Asian Cultural Council Hong Kong

FAQ


  1. Am I considered a “professional” artist if I don’t make my living from my art?
  2. Are early-career or established applicants more likely to receive funding?


Proposals

  1. I was under the impression that ACC only supported travel to the U.S. only. Can I apply for travel to another Asian country?
  2. Is there a limit on how many countries I can visit?
  3. I have been admitted to a residency program in San Francisco, can I submit an application for travel grant to support my return airfare from HK to SF?
  4. My dance company was invited to participate in a major arts festival in Minneapolis. Can I submit an organisational grant to support airfare and accommodation of the key participating artist?
  5. I am a graduate student in a local university and I need to conduct field work abroad for my dissertation research. Is my research proposal eligible for a Graduate Scholarship?
  6. The New York Fellowship Program was recommended to me by several ACC alumni, but they had greater flexibility to customize their itineraries than I see in the guidelines. For example, one had a four-month fellowship, and another split a six-month fellowship into two trips. Because I have work commitments in 2018, I would like to apply for two separate trips totaling five months. Is this possible?
  7. What do you mean by “process not production”?
  8. I have been accepted to a studio residency program and need funding to participate. Is this eligible?
  9. May I submit my application in a language other than English?
  10. I have submitted my online applications and provided the emails of my 2 referees. However, I very much like to know whether the referees have submitted their reference letters. How can I find this out?


Funding

  1. I am planning to begin my project as soon as the funding period begins. If my application is successful, how soon will the grant be paid?


Other Questions

  1. My question hasn’t been answered here. How can I contact ACC with specific questions about the application or my proposal?


1. Am I considered a “professional” artist if I don’t make my living from my art?

To be considered a professional artist, you must show evidence of sustained commitment to your practice, whether or not you are able to support yourself from your art.

2. Are early-career or established applicants more likely to receive funding?

ACC does not privilege either early-career or established applicants. Most importantly, an ACC grant is not an award for previous work, and a candidate who has achieved renown will not be competitive if his or her proposal does not meet ACC’s criteria for cultural engagement and impact. However, a recent graduate who has produced little work is also not likely to be competitive. Past grant recipients range in age from their 20s to their 80s, and there are no age restrictions.



Proposals

3. I was under the impression that ACC only supported travel to the U.S. only. Can I apply for travel to another Asian country?

Yes, ACC supports intra-Asia exchange under the category of Individual Fellowship Program. You are also welcome to read a featured article on the ACC website, which is about a recent Intra-Asia exchange report by one of our recent fellow. Please read report via here.

4. Is there a limit on how many countries I can visit?

There is no limit on the number of countries you may visit on your fellowship, but because cultural immersion and deep engagement are priorities, proposals for short trips to a number of different countries may be less competitive. A strong case should be made for why it is necessary to visit each country to carry out the proposed project.

5. I have been admitted to a residency program in San Francisco, can I submit an application for travel grant to support my return airfare from HK to SF?

Because 2018 will be a year of strategic planning to enhance the ACC program, applications will be limited to three categories in this funding cycle, namely the New York Fellowship Program, the Individual Fellowship Program and Graduate Scholarships. During this period, we will not be accepting applications for Travel Grants, nor for Organisation and Project Grants.

6. My dance company was invited to participate in a major arts festival in Minneapolis. Can I submit an organisational grant to support airfare and accommodation of the key participating artist?

Because 2018 will be a year of strategic planning to enhance the ACC program, applications will be limited to three categories in this funding cycle, namely the New York Fellowship Program, the Individual Fellowship Program and Graduate Scholarships. During this period, we will not be accepting applications for Travel Grants, nor for Organisation and Project Grants.

7. I am a graduate student in a local university and I need to conduct field work abroad for my dissertation research. Is my research proposal eligible for a Graduate Scholarship?

Graduate Scholarships are for students pursuing a graduate degree at a U.S. institution. If you are enrolled in a graduate program in China/Hong Kong/Macau and you are seeking funding for your field research in the U.S. and/or Asia, you may apply in the Individual Fellowship category.

8. The New York Fellowship Program was recommended to me by several ACC alumni, but they had greater flexibility to customize their itineraries than I see in the guidelines. For example, one had a four-month fellowship, and another split a six-month fellowship into two trips. Because I have work commitments in 2018, I would like to apply for two separate trips totaling five months. Is this possible?

The New York Fellowship Program aims to provide cultural immersion and cross-cultural exchange for an extended period in New York City. In 2018, we can only accept applications for a single six-month period in this program, which includes ACC accommodations in New York. For a more self-directed program or a shorter stay, you should apply for an Individual Fellowship. Please refer to the guidelines here.

9. What do you mean by “process not production”?

Because ACC’s mission is focused first and foremost on cultural exchange, fellowships are primarily made to support travel that results in cultural immersion; meaningful engagement; significant contributions to greater cross-cultural understanding; and peer-to- peer dialogue, relationship-building, or exchange of best practices. ACC does not support touring, performance, exhibition, or other types of travel focused on the production of work or audience-driven outcomes. This does not mean that you cannot have an end-goal of creating or showing new work. However, successful proposals will show a strong commitment to engaging in a process of discovery.

10. I have been accepted to a studio residency program and need funding to participate. Is this eligible?

If your studio residency is focused on the creation of new work which may not provide opportunities for engagement outside the studio, these types of proposals tend to be less competitive, though they are not ineligible.

11. May I submit my application in a language other than English?

All applications must be submitted in English. Applicants from China/Hong Kong/Macau may choose to complete a dual-language application in both Chinese and English, but it is not required.

12. I have submitted my online applications and provided the emails of my 2 referees. However, I very much like to know whether the referees have submitted their reference letters. How can I find this out?

When you give your referees’ email addresses in the application, they will automatically receive an email with instructions about how to upload the letters of recommendation online. As soon as each letter is uploaded, you will receive an automated email confirmation. Applicants and referees should check their spam folders for emails from the application system, or add the sending email address (application@accny.org) to their safe sender list. If you have not received a confirmation, you are welcome to contact our office and we will double check whether we have received the recommendation letters for you.



Funding

13. I am planning to begin my project as soon as the funding period begins. If my application is successful, how soon will the grant be paid?

After grant notification, additional time is required to administer the grant agreement and process payment requests. While applicants are free to begin their projects as early as June 1, it is advisable to plan for a later start if project planning cannot take place prior to securing funding, or if the money must be received before activities can begin.



Other Questions

14. My question hasn’t been answered here. How can I contact ACC with specific questions about the application or my proposal?

Contact information for ACC’s five offices can be found on the contact page.

李建军 (2017会友)

常见问题

  1. 我并非以创作艺术维生,算是「专业」艺术家吗?
  2. 新晋艺术家或有成就艺术家会更容易获取资助吗?

申请方案

  1. 我以为ACC奖助只限前往美国,我可以申请奖助到其他亚洲地区考察吗?
  2. 我可到访的国家有数量限制吗?
  3. 我已获得三藩市驻留计划,能否提交申请以取得经费,支持从香港到三藩市的来回机票费用?
  4. 我的舞蹈团被邀请参加明尼阿波尼斯的大型艺术节。我可否提交团体资助申请,以支持主要参与艺术家来回机票和住宿费用?
  5. 我是本地大学的研究所学生,需要到海外就论文进行研究。我的研究方案符合研究所奖助金申请资格吗?
  6. 好几位亚洲文化协会会友均向我推荐纽约奖助计划,但相较我在网上申请守则所见,他们行程安排更灵活。例如,其中一位行程为期四个月,另一位把六个月行程分拆为两次旅程。因为我在2018年工作安排关系,我希望申请两次旅程,共为期五个月。这样可行吗?
  7. 你所指的「过程而非结果」是什麽意思?
  8. 我被一个工作室驻留计划录取并需要资金参与,我符合申请资格吗?
  9. 可以提交不是以英文填写的申请表吗?
  10. 我已在网上递交申请并提供了两位推荐人的电邮地址。但想知道推荐人有没有递交他们的推荐信,该怎样得知?

资金问题

  1. 我计划在资助期开始(六月一日)时马上成行,如果我获得奖助,最快何时得到这笔经费?

其他问题

我的问题并没有在上述问题中,如何可以就申请或计划书的某些问题联络亚洲文化协会?


  1.  
  2. 1. 我并非以创作艺术维生,算是「专业」艺术家吗?

我们主要希望您能提供证明,展示自己持续投身於创作,作为您是否专业艺术家的凭据。而非您能否以艺术创作维持生计。

2. 新晋艺术家或有成就艺术家会更容易获取资助吗?

ACC对新晋艺术家和具一定成就的艺术家一视同仁。最重要的是,ACC奖助并不是一个艺术家的奖赏或奖项;奖助计划目标为鼓励更多具影响力的文化交流,如果申请书不符合此标准,即使申请者备受肯定,亦不会别具优势。另一方面,相比其他经验稍丰的申请者,新毕业生亦不一定具更大优势,尤其是如你在艺术上尚未有太多往绩。ACC过去所资助的会友年龄包括二十至八十岁,亦无年龄上限制。

申请方案

3. 我以为ACC奖助只限前往美国,我可以申请奖助到其他亚洲地区考察吗?

是的,ACC支持亚际交流,你可尝试递交申请至个人奖助计划。欢迎阅读这篇ACC网站上的特写文章,由我们一位近期会友撰写关於亚际交流的奖助报告。内文详情请按此

4. 我可到访的国家有数量限制吗?

就你的奖助而言,到访的国家数量并没有限制。然而我们视文化体验薰陶和深入交流为首要。如你的申请计划为短期内到访不同国家,可能更少竞争力。优异的方案将能解释到访每个国家的必要原因,以实践所提出的计划。

5. 我已获得三藩市驻留计划,能否提交申请以取得经费,支持从香港到三藩市的来回机票费用?

2018年会是协会研究未来策略方向,以推动更优越奖助计划的一年。因此奖助计划及资助会限制至三大类别,分别为纽约奖助计划丶个人奖助计划及研究所奖助金。在2018年,我们恕不接受纯旅费资助计划或团体及项目资助申请。

6. 我的舞蹈团被邀请参加明尼阿波尼斯的大型艺术节。我可否提交团体资助申请,以支持主要参与艺术家来回机票和住宿费用?

2018年会是协会研究未来策略方向,以推动更优越奖助计划的一年。因此奖助计划及资助会限制至三大类别,分别为纽约奖助计划丶个人奖助计划及研究所奖助金。在2018年,我们恕不接受纯旅费资助计划或团体及项目资助申请。

7. 我是本地大学的研究所学生,需要到海外就论文进行研究。我的研究方案符合研究所奖助金申请资格吗?

研究所奖助金专为在美国就读研究所的学生而设。如你就读於中国/香港/澳门研究所,并寻找在美国及/或亚洲田野调查经费,请申请个人奖助计划类别。

8. 好几位亚洲文化协会会友均向我推荐纽约奖助计划,但相较我在网上申请守则所见,他们行程安排更灵活。例如,其中一位行程为期四个月,另一位把六个月行程分拆为两次旅程。因为我在2018年工作安排关系,我希望申请两次旅程,共为期五个月。这样可行吗?

纽约奖助计划致力为奖助得主在纽约的一段长时间内,提供深度文化体验及跨文化交流。在2018年,我们只接受在纽约ACC公寓为期六个月的交流申请。如你的计划较六个月为短,毋须ACC的协助而可自主进行,可申请个人奖助计划。请参考此处获取更多细节。

9. 你所指的「过程而非结果」是什麽意思?

设立文化交流奖助的目的是文化交流。奖助交流的旅程为鼓励文化交流而设,以提供具意义的参与丶对跨文化理解的重大贡献丶或交流优秀的艺术历练。亚洲文化协会不支持巡演丶演出丶展览或其他为作品创作,或为拓展海外观众的文化交流。这并非指你的计划目标不能有创作或展示新作品。然而成功的计划书将展示出愿意投身到探索不同文化的过程。

10. 我被一个工作室驻留计划录取并需要资金参与,我符合申请资格吗?

若你的工作室驻留计划针对创作新作品,而非提供工作室以外当地文化的参与和探索机会,这类方案虽符合申请资格,倾向较为逊色。

11. 可以提交不是以英文填写的申请表吗?

所有申请文件资料必须以英文填写。中国/香港/澳门申请人可选择以中英双语填写申请表,但并非必要。

12. 我已在网上递交申请并提供了两位推荐人的电邮地址。但想知道推荐人有没有递交他们的推荐信,该怎样得知?

当您在申请中提交推荐人电邮地址後,他们将自动收到指示电邮,详细介绍如何上传推荐信。一旦推荐信已上传,您将收到系统自动发出的确认邮件。申请人和推荐人亦应检查垃圾邮件信箱,以防万一,或加入系统电邮地址到安全发信人列表(application@accny.org)。当然,我们非常欢迎你联络我们,我们会协助确认推荐信是否已为你收妥。

资金问题

13. 我计划在资助期开始(六月一日)时马上成行,如果我获得奖助,最快何时得到这笔经费?

批发奖助後,我们需要时间准备奖助合约,并审理发放经费的要求。奖助得主虽可早至在六月一日出发开始计划,如果得主需要先确保已获取资金,或需要先取得资助才出发,我们则建议你可以延後出发日子。

其他问题

14. 我的问题并没有在上述问题中,如何可以就申请或计划书的某些问题联络亚洲文化协会?

你可在联络我们一页找到亚洲文化协会的五个办事处联络方式。