Louisa So (2008 Fellow)

Information & Deadlines

2019 ACC Fellowship application 
for the US and intra Asia cultural exchange is now open

Deadline for application: November 16, 2018 1pm (Hong Kong time)


1. The Asian Cultural Council Fellowship Program

2. General Eligibility Guidelines

3. 2019 Grant Guidelines
- New York Fellowship Program
- Individual Fellowship Program
- Graduate Scholarship
- Organization Grant

1. The Asian Cultural Council Fellowship Program
Since 1963, the ACC has operated a program of long-term, immersive fellowships and shorter-term grants for individual artists, scholars, and arts and humanities professionals who wish to pursue specialized training not available in their home countries; find new creative inspiration through travel, research, and exploration; or pursue targeted research projects. The Asian Cultural Council makes grants to support international travel and cultural exchange between Asia and the U.S., and among the countries/ regions in Asia. The large majority of grants are awarded directly to individuals. Organizations that will facilitate a cultural exchange opportunity for our targeted professionals may also apply on behalf of the individual project participants.

ACC supports activities in line with its mission in promoting international understanding that involve cultural immersion; meaningful cross-cultural engagement; and relationship building, collaboration, or exchange of best practices among peers. Our priority is to support cultural exchange projects that focus on process rather than production. Examples of process-focused activities are research, study, and exploration. By contrast, proposals for touring, performance, exhibition, or any activity focused on the production of work or audience-driven outcomes are not a priority and will only be considered where there is an exceptional contribution to furthering international understanding. In addition to funding, ACC offers logistical and programmatic support such as mentoring and personal introductions to its grant recipients. The kind of support varies by grant type and destination country, and is tailored to each individual. It may include recommendations of sites to visit or activities to participate in; personal introductions to relevant contacts in the field; and visa sponsorship for individuals traveling to the U.S.

ACC has supported exchanges for nearly 4,000 individuals and 6,000 grants to date. By its unique combination of supports, ACC’s program builds relationships that deepen cross-cultural ties beyond the duration of the grant. The signature feature of ACC’s program is access to this international network of alumni and other partners – a community of institutional leaders and emerging and established practitioners throughout Asia and the U.S. who help advise current grant recipients. Such community helps maintaining close connections with alumni and creates ongoing opportunities for engagement from within.

2. General Eligibility Guidelines
The following guidelines apply to applicants who are residents or holds citizenship in China, Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR. Applicants who are residents or citizens of other regions, please refer to New York, Taipei, Tokyo and Manila website via here. Applicants should review these guidelines thoroughly to see if they are eligible to apply and if their proposal will be a strong candidate for funding. Additional information can be found in the FAQ.

When
In 2019, the ACC Hong Kong application cycle are as follows:

­­­September 20, 2018

Application opens

November 16, 1pm (HK Time)

Application closes for individuals (all application materials) and organizations (Letter of Intent only)

December 2, 1pm (HK Time)

Organizations notified of the status of their LOI; accepted projects given access to the complete application form

January 3, 2019 1pm (HK Time)

Deadline for accepted organizations (all application materials)

December 2018-March 2019

Application review and interviews with shortlisted candidates

May 2019

Award decisions made by the ACC Hong Kong Foundation Board and Board of Trustees

June 2019

Award notification

Please note that after notification, additional time is required to administer the grant agreement and process payment requests. The fellowship period begins earliest on June 1, 2019 after the submission deadline, fellows who received their fellowship must begin their travel within 12 months of that date. It is advisable to plan for a later start if project planning cannot take place prior to securing funding, or if the money must be received before activities can begin.

Who
Professional artists, arts administrators, scholars, graduate/post-graduate students, and organizations working in the following fields:

Archaeology
Architecture
Art History
Arts Administration
Arts Criticism
Conservation
Crafts
Curation
Dance
Ethnomusicology
Film/Video/Photography
Museum Studies
Music
Theater
Visual Art

Where
Individual applicants must be either residents or citizens of China, Hong Kong and Macau, and their proposed program must involve travel between one or more countries/ regions on the list.

Afghanistan
Bangladesh
Bhutan
Brunei
Cambodia
East Timor
India
Indonesia
Japan
Korea
Laos
Malaysia
Mongolia
Myanmar
Nepal
Pakistan
Philippines
Singapore
Sri Lanka
Taiwan
Thailand
Vietnam
United States

What
ACC grant funds may be used for costs associated with travel and research only. Research is broadly defined as any activities in pursuit of creative or scholarly inquiry, and may take many different forms. The following examples of allowable expenses are not an exhaustive list and are intended as a general guideline only:

  • Allowable travel expenses may include international airfare, local transportation, visas, travel insurance, accommodations, and living expenses.
  • Allowable research expenses may include admission fees and tickets to cultural institutions and events; fees for classes or workshops; photocopying or supplies; and translator fees.*

*Please note that to enhance communication and mutual understanding during fellowship program, participants in the New York Fellowship Program are suggested to have basic English language proficiency to make sure that immersive experience of the program is possible. Under this circumstance, we are unable to support applicants who require extensive use of paid translator.

Expenses and activities NOT supported by ACC funding:

  • activities conducted by individuals in their home countries
  • commercial and industrial design
  • commercial activity or for-profit entities
  • production costs (including film, video, touring, etc.)
  • artist exhibitions and performance tours
  • publications
  • undergraduate and secondary school study
  • tuition (ACC can help cover living and travel expenses for graduate/post-graduate students only)
  • organizational overhead, capital campaigns or operating costs
  • projects beginning before or after the funding period (June 1, 2019-June 1, 2020) following the submission deadline.

3. 2019 Grant Guidelines

For the 2019 fellowship cycle (with an application deadline in November 2018) the fellowships below will be open to applicants from China, Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR.

  • New York Fellowship Program
  • Individual Fellowship Program
  • Graduate Scholarship
  • Organization Grant

 ***Travel grant is not open for application.***

New York Fellowship Program
The New York Fellowship Program enables artists, scholars, and arts specialists from Asia to live in New York City for a period of six months while receiving comprehensive logistical and programmatic support from ACC staff. This program is intended for research, exploration, and cultural immersion. It is not intended for exhibiting, performing, presenting, or other public activities.

Logistical Support
Logistical support includes: visa sponsorship, health insurance, a stipend for living and research expenses, and housing in a studio apartment in New York. There are four start dates a year (Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer) and applicants may indicate their preference in the application. The final schedule for successful candidates will be determined after the grant is awarded and will take into consideration programmatic recommendations and housing availability as well as the Fellow’s own schedule and preferences.

Program Support
Applicants may apply with a focused research proposal, but open-ended exploration is also allowed and encouraged. Fellows in this program often choose to pursue new interests, explore across disciplines, observe best practices in their field, seek creative inspiration, or engage in targeted training or workshops.

ACC staff will assist in arranging a program of activities tailored to the individual goals and interests of each Fellow. This may include advice on cultural events, resources, and learning opportunities; introductions to relevant contacts in ACC’s network; and assistance in planning travel to other parts of the country. During the program, Fellows will have opportunities to reflect on their work and experiences through meetings with staff and presentations to other Fellows in the program.

Ten Fellows participate in the program at any given time, forming a supportive community and providing additional opportunities for dialogue and collaboration across countries and disciplines.

Visual Artists: at ACC’s discretion, some visual artists in this program may be placed in a studio or non-studio residency program. Artists placed in a residency will be encouraged to use the residency as a site for community, dialogue, and expert recommendations about New York’s art scene; they are not expected to create new work. The New York Fellowship Program is not designed to help artists get discovered or find New York gallery representation.

Remarks:

  • Only individuals may apply (no teams).
  • Previous participants in this program are not eligible to reapply.
  • For travel to the U.S. lasting less than six months, applicants should apply in the Individual Fellowship category.
  • For travel to the U.S. not based in New York City, applicants should apply in the Individual Fellowship category.
  • The fellowship cannot be divided into multiple trips. Once Fellows commit to a start date, they are expected to make the necessary personal and professional arrangements to adhere to that schedule.

Individual Fellowship Program: Asia-to-U.S., Intra-Asia
The Individual Fellowship Program is open to individuals (or up to two collaborators) undertaking self-directed trips ranging from one to six months for research, study, or exploration. Partial funding for dissertation research projects of up to one year is also available in this category.

In addition to funding, ACC offers Fellows logistical and programmatic support. The kind of support will vary according to the needs of a given proposal and ACC’s resources in the destination country. Support may include recommendations of sites to visit or activities to participate in, and personal introductions to relevant contacts within ACC’s network of alumni and partners throughout Asia and the U.S. This network is particularly strong where ACC has offices: Hong Kong, Japan, the Philippines, Taiwan, and the U.S.

Programmatic support is intended to enhance a proposed plan of activity and deepen the cultural exchange experience, but proposals should be feasible with or without additional guidance from ACC.  

Collaborations
Up to two collaborators may apply together using a single individual application form. Application answers and supporting materials should represent both individuals equally and make a case for why the project requires collaboration. The average grant amount is not likely to be larger than an individual grant, so successful applications tend to be those proposing a shorter period of travel.

Travel to the U.S.
For Fellows traveling from Asia to the U.S., ACC will provide health insurance and visa sponsorship as needed. Fellows will be responsible for making their own housing arrangements, but staff will offer advice and recommendations when possible. Because there is no public transportation in rural areas and only limited transportation in many cities, applicants proposing to travel outside of major metropolitan areas should research and demonstrate the feasibility of their plans, and they should be prepared to rent a car if necessary to carry out their intended project.

Graduate Scholarship: Asia-to-U.S. only
ACC gives a small number of scholarships each year to students who have been admitted to a graduate degree program in one of the eligible disciplines. Scholarships are for one year and provide for travel and living expenses, but will not be sufficient to cover full tuition costs. Applicants who have not yet received an admission offer are welcome to apply for an ACC scholarship, but ACC must receive proof of admission before funding can be awarded.

Competitive applicants are students who do not have access to comparable programs at home. Priority will be given to fields that are underrepresented in the applicant’s home country.

Organization Grant: Asia-to-U.S., Intra Asia
Organizations registered as a legal entity in China, Hong Kong and Macau may apply for organization grant. The majority of ACC funding is intended to support individuals, but organizations that are facilitating a cultural exchange opportunity for individual project participants may apply on their behalf. When completing the application, the focus should be on the specific project participants. Applications that do not name individuals project participants and include their biographies and work samples will not be considered.

How to Apply
Please read the ACC Program and Eligibility Guidelines sections before continuing.

The application and all supporting materials must be submitted online. You may register for an account at any time, but the application will only be visible during the open application period (from September until the November deadline).

Individual applicants will be asked to complete the following:

  • Eligibility Form: answer general questions about your background to make sure you are eligible to apply.
  • Application Form: provide contact details, information about your background and qualifications, a project proposal, and other related information.
  • Headshot
  • CV or Resume (optional but recommended)
  • Letters of Recommendation: Give the names and email addresses of two recommenders. Recommenders will receive instructions from ACC about how to submit their letters of recommendation online. Applicants are strongly advised to contact recommenders before they begin receiving automated communications from ACC.
  • Budget: List ACC-allowable expenses for the proposed project in U.S. dollars. If your application is successful, ACC program staff may advise you on your budget or apply standard formulas.

Organization applicants will be asked to complete the following:

  • Eligibility Form: answer general questions about your proposal to make sure it is eligible for consideration.
  • Letter of Intent (LOI): a letter summarizing the proposed project.

ACC will review the LOI and let you know if you have been invited to submit a full proposal. The complete proposal will consist of:

Application Form: provide contact details, organizational background, information about the participating artists, a project proposal, and a budget.
Work Samples: submit work samples for the participating artists for whom you are seeking ACC support. Submit up to 15 images and/or up to 3 videos, with brief descriptions of each. Artist statements or other written materials may also be submitted.

Please submit your application via here.

苏玉华 (2009会友)

申请细则与截止日期

 

2019年度亚洲文化协会奖助

(前往美国及亚洲区内交流)

开始接受申请

截止日期:香港时间2018年11月16日下午1时正


1. ACC文化交流奖助计划
2. 一般申请指引
3. 2019奖助指南

- 纽约奖助计划
- 个人奖助计划
- 研究所奖助金
- 团体资助

1. 文化交流奖助计划

自1963年,亚洲文化协会一直提供深度体验交流奖助及短期资助,给予艺术家丶学者和艺术人文学科专业人士,使他们能接受原居地所缺乏的专业培训;通过海外考察丶研究和探索新事物,寻求创意启发;或进行特定目标的研究计划。亚洲文化协会提供资助以支持亚洲和美国间,亚洲内的跨区域旅程与文化交流。大部份资助为个人资助。如机构和团体为上述艺文专才提供文化交流机会,亦可代表有关人士申请计划资助。

亚洲文化协会支持符合其理念,推广国际间认识的活动,如深度文化体验丶具意义的跨文化参与丶建立国际网络丶合作或同侪间切磋砥砺。我们主要支持文化交流计划,重视过程中的探索丶启发而非具体成果展示。过程为重的活动例子包括研究丶考察及探索。相反,以下活动并非优先,如巡演丶演出丶展览,为创作作品,或为拓展海外观众的活动。除非这些申请资助项目能有效地推动国际间认识,才会破例考虑。

除经费外,亚洲文化协会提供行程规划及专业服务及支援,如在厘订交流行程时个别指导得奖人,为他们介绍合适访谈对象。提供的服务和支援因奖助类别与目的地而异。量身订造的支援可包括推荐考察地点或参与活动丶亲自介绍业内相关人士丶往返美国的个人签证担保等。

亚洲文化协会至今颁发近6000项奖助计划,帮助近4000位得奖人。由於我们提供的独特支援,所建立的跨文化连系,往往超越实际交流期限。奖助计划的特点是其国际会友网络及其他伙伴实属一个社区组织,由新晋与具成就的艺术工作者丶机构领袖们所组成,跨越亚洲及美国,为新得奖人提供建议及协助。这个社区有效地维系会友间的连结,并为他们不断创造更多机会。

1. 一般申请指引

以下指南适用於中国丶香港特别行政区丶澳门特别行政区人士或居民。如申请人是上述地区外之公民或居民,请按此参考纽约丶台北丶东京及马尼拉之网站。申请人应参阅该指南,以决定他们是否符合申请资格,或他们的申请是否符合申请条件。更多资讯可详阅常见问题。

申请流程
亚洲文化协会奖助计划於2019年申请周期如下:

­­­2018年9月20日

接受申請

11月16日下午1時正(香港时间)

个人申请丶团体意向书截止申请

12月2日下午一時正(香港时间)

团体意向书如获接纳,开始填写正式申请书

2019年1月3日下午一時正(香港时间)

团体申请截止

2018年12月至2019年3月

审批申请及面见入围申请者

2019年5月

香港理事会及纽约理事会通过申请

2019年6月

公佈申请結果

请注意公布申请结果後,协会需要额外时间准备奖助批准信及发放资助手续。奖助行程最早可於2019年6月1日开始,并需於12个月内展开其旅程。如奖助得主需要於确定资助後,或获取奖助金方可成行,我们建议申请人延後出发日期以符合上述情况。

对象
修读或从事以下艺术范畴的艺术家丶艺术行政人员丶学者丶毕业生或组织:

考古学
建筑学
艺术历
艺术行政
艺术评论
文物保护
民间工艺
策展
舞蹈
民族音乐学
电影/录像/摄影
博物馆学
音乐
戏剧
视觉艺术

地区
个人申请者必须为中国内地丶香港或澳门公民或居民,而申请者所提交的计划必须涉及来往以下表中一个或多个国家或地区。

不丹
巴基斯坦
日本
台湾
尼泊尔
印尼
印度
老挝
汶莱
孟加拉国
东帝汶
阿富汗
柬埔寨
美国
泰国
马来西亚
斯里兰卡
菲律宾
越南
新加坡
蒙古
缅甸
韩国

内容
亚洲文化协会仅支持与海外交流有关的旅费和研究经费。研究形式不限,以创意启发或学术研究为主。以下为一般可支持的开销,仅作为基本指南,并非全部目录:

  • 可支持费用包括国际机票丶本地交通丶签证费用丶旅游保险丶住宿及基本生活开销。
  • 可支持研究经费包括门票及参观文化机构丶活动费用;课程或工作坊费用;影印费或物资;翻译费用。*

*由於奖助计划的宗旨是促进相互理解与交流,纽约奖助计划参加者须具备基本英语程度,以保证得奖者於留美期间获取深度文化体验。在此前提下,协会恕未能提供大量或全程翻译的经费申请。

亚洲文化协会不支持以下开销及活动:

  • 申请人在原居地进行的活动
  • 商业及工业设计
  • 商业活动或牟利团体
  • 制作费(包括电影拍摄丶录像丶巡演等)
  • 艺术展览或巡回表演
  • 刊物出版
  • 修读中学或大学本科课程
  • 学费(协会只提供经费予毕业生/研究生旅费及生活费)
  • 团体日常运作开销丶筹募资金活动及行政经费
  • 拟申请计划在ACC奖助期限(2019年6月1日-2020年6月1日)以外进行,ACC并不会支持有关开支

 

2. 2019奖助指南

在2019奖助年度(2018年11月截止),欢迎中国丶香港特别行政区和澳门特别行政区居民申请以下奖助计划。

  • 纽约奖助计划
  • 个人奖助计划
  • 研究所奖助金
  • 团体资助

***2019年不接受旅费资助申请***

纽约奖助计划

纽约奖助计划为亚洲艺术家丶学者及艺术专业人士提供在纽约驻留六个月丶全面行程协助及专业导引及支援。这项计划专为研究丶探索及深度文化交流而设。计划并非用作展览丶表演丶展出或其他公共活动用途。

行程协助
行程协助包括:签证担保丶医疗保险丶生活及研究基本开支和在纽约的工作室公寓。全年共有四个开始日期(秋丶冬丶春丶夏),申请者需在申请中注明计划出发日期。得奖人获发奖助後,将因应奖助计划建议丶公寓空档及得奖人本身工作编排及需要,决定最终出发日期。

专业支援
申请人申请时可以提交具体研究方案,但我们亦鼓励较为开放以探索新视野为主的考察。得奖人期望透过文化交流,追求新事物新观点丶跨界别探索丶业内观摩交流丶寻找新启迪或参加特定培训或工作坊。

协会会协助安排考察内容,为奖助得主量身订造交流旅程,包括推荐不同文化活动丶相关资源丶学习机会丶协助建立人际网络丶或规划到美国其他地区行程等。在美期间,得奖人将可透过与同事会面丶与会友交流汇报,反思其创作方向丶经历。

备注:

  • 计划只接受个人报名(非团队)
  • 曾参加此计划的得奖人,本会恕不考虑再次申请。
  • 如赴美计划为期少於六个月,申请人应该申请个人奖助计划类别。
  • 如赴美计划不以纽约为主,申请人应该申请个人奖助计划类别。
  • 奖助计划不可分拆为多次行程。
  • 得奖人一旦决定起行,建议适当调度个人及工作安排,以配合行程。

 

个人奖助计划: 亚洲到美国,亚洲区内
个人奖助计划供个人(或最多两位合作伙伴)申请,申请人为进行研究丶考察或探索,自行安排大部份考察内容,为期一至六个月。这计划亦为论文田野调查,提供部分海外研究经费,为期最多一年。

除经费以外,协会将向得奖人提供有限度的行程协助及专业支援。这些协助将因应行程方案需要及协会在当地的资源有所不同/调整。协助包括推荐考察地点和参与活动丶联系会友或伙伴机构。而在地区办事处所在地,包括香港丶台北丶东京丶马尼拉,协会网络特别广泛丶活跃。

协会的专业支援意在完善活动规划,加深文化交流体验,不论协会能否提供额外援助,申请者须确保方案能自行推行。

联合申请
如计划属联合申请,合作伙伴可共用同一个人申请表,最多两人。申请书内容及附加文件需同时代表两个申请者,并有效说明为何计划需要两人的联合申请。计划的平均资助不会多於个人奖助所得,因此成功的联合申请多数为较短时期的行程。

前往美国的申请
从亚洲出发到美国的得奖人,协会将按需要,提供医疗保险及签证担保。但得奖人须自行安排住宿,协会会尽量提供建议。由於美国乡郊地区没有公共交通工具,以及许多城市只有有限公共交通网络,计划大城市以外行程的申请人,应预先调查及证明其计划行程之可行性,必要时亦需准备租用汽车,以顺利开展行程。

研究所奖助金: 只限亚洲至美国
协会每年会颁发少量奖助金,给予攻读硕士或博士课程,及符合上述艺术范畴的学生。奖助金为期一年,提供旅费及生活开支,但不会支付全额学费。申请人即使尚未获取录亦可申请此奖助金,但正式获颁奖助金前,必须提交录取证明。

如就读的科目在本地尚未普及,这类申请者一般机会更大。如该学术领域在申请人原居地尚在发展阶段,协会将优先考虑那些申请。

团体资助: 亚洲到美国,亚洲区内

中国丶香港及澳门的注册非牟利团体,可申请团体资助。ACC奖助计划主要支持个别艺术家丶学者与专才的需要。因此筹办文化交流活动的团体,可代表个人参加者向ACC申请资助。团体提交申请後,ACC将主要审核该特定个人代表是否适合获得支持。如提交的申请没有注明计划个人代表,以及提交他们的履历丶作品样本等,ACC将不作考虑。

如何提交申请

在填写申请表前,请先详阅协会奖助计划及资格指南部份。

申请表格及所有附加文件必需通过网上缴交。你可随时注册帐户,但申请表格只在每年开放申请时期供参阅。(九月至十一月截止)

个人申请者需提交以下资料:

  • 资格审核表: 回答有关您的基本背景资料,确保您符合申请资格。
  • 申请表格: 提供联络方式,你的背景及专业资格,计划方案及其他相关资料。
  • 个人相片
  • 履历表 (非必须但建议提供)
  • 作品样本 (非必须但建议提供): 提供最多15张相片及/或最多3段影片,及每张相提供简介。
  • 两位推荐人的推荐信: 提供两位推荐人的名字和邮件地址。推荐人将收到协会的指引,说明如何在网上提交推荐信。我们非常建议申请人先行联络推荐人,然後开始在协会申请系统上接收系统提示。
  • 财政预算: 以美元列明提交计划中协会所支持的开销。如申请成功,协会员工或会就您的预算提出建议,或使用协会预备的统一预算。

团体申请者需提供以下资料:

  • 资格审核表: 回答计划相关问题,以确认贵团体符合申请资格
  • 意向书: 概述计划方案

ACC将审核意向书: 获接纳之团体可进一步提交完整资料,说明计划。这些资料包括:

申请表: 提供联络方式丶团体介绍丶参与艺术家资料丶计划详细内容以及所需财政预算。
作品样本: 请提交参加计划艺术家的作品样本。申请人最多可提交15张图像及/或3段录像,并提交作品相关简介。申请人亦可提交艺术家自述或其他文字资料。

欲提交申请,请按此注册。